9 comments on “My Top 5 Favorite Directors

  1. I’m not sure about Boll and Bay, but still, it’s a pretty good list. Here’s mine:

    1. Guillermo del Toro (Best film: Pan’s Labyrinth)
    2. Ridley Scott (Best Film: Gladiator)
    3. James Cameron (Best Film: Titanic, which I know I’ll get crap for)
    4. Stephen Spielberg (Best Film: Schindler’s List)
    5. Peter Jackson (Best Film: The Lord of the Rings)

    Honorable Mentions go to: Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, Christopher Nolan, Robert Zemeckis and Zack Snyder (yes, even him).

  2. Good list. Uwe is a good addition. If this claimed to be a list of directors whose films were best then obviously all of the choices would be bad. But it seems to be more of a personal reaction to their personalities. I love Uwe’s theatrics.

    I can’t believe you like M. Bay. He’s obviously a military fetishizing, woman hating, scum bag with deep seeded issues of jealousy, inadequacy and narcissism. At least Uwe is entertaining.

    • I mostly hate Bay as a person because of the reasons you mentioned, but I don’t let his personal beliefs affect my enjoyment of his films.

      I chose these based on how much I enjoy their films.

    • Hey man, I don’t really know about M. Bay’s character as a person.
      “He’s obviously a military fetishizing, woman hating, scum bag with deep seeded issues of jealousy, inadequacy and narcissism.”
      Somebody should let me know. All I know about him is that his movies are entertaining.

  3. @ I chose these based on how much I enjoy their films.

    In that case it’s a horrible list. And not even self consistent because in the Boll entry you say: “he freaking has boxing matches with critics. That’s just awesome.” Which has nothing to do with his films at all.

    My favorite directors working today (I know no one else included that stipulation):

    Werner Herog
    David Lynch
    Quentin Tarrantino
    Spike Jonz
    Michel Gondry
    Coens
    John Hillcoat
    Innarutu
    Cuaron
    Michael Mann
    Richard Linklater

    I also really like Chris Nolan, Steven Speilberg, David Gordon Green and Jody Hill

Leave a Reply

