8 comments on “The Last Airbender Review

  1. It was pretty much doomed from the start. The characters and plot in the cartoon aren’t nearly developed enough. I know it’s a good show, as I’ve seen every single episode and enjoyed it a lot. But in terms of a movie it’s just a terrible idea.

    “All the nations lived in harmony until one day, the fire nation attacked.” I mean, it’s clearly made for kids. Otherwise it wouldn’t be so darn simplistic. The “fire nation” wouldn’t just be called that; they would have come up with a cool, realistic name for each civilization.

    Also, they would have actually bothered to explain just why it had to be the Avatar, master of all elements, who saves everyone. Think about it. It’s ONE guy. How is he supposed to take on an entire nation? Why can’t the other three nations team up? It makes so much sense, and yet they never do.

    Anyway, I guess my point is that a good Airbender movie could have been done, but they would have had to change A LOT of things. A Nickolodeon cartoon for kiddies is one thing, an epic movie trilogy is quite another.

  2. OMG I TOTALLY DISLIKED THIS MOVIE. I watched the show multiple times and I have to say I felt like they could have done better. They rushed way to much through the story line and it shifted back and forth to fast I think it left some people who didn’t watch the show confused.

    However my main issue here is with the names …. Shyamalan seems to like the make things sound different. I didn’t appreciate that at all in any aspect.

    Plus the story was in many ways different from the show which I understand. You cant stick entirely to the show however…… It was like…. he took the show and chopped it into little tiny minced pieces………in other words butchered. Sorry but I think this movie was a waste of my time.

  3. I don’t think anyone disagrees with you, there. This movie was a big waste of time for everyone involved.

    I liked some of the actors, though. Someone should get a good role for that chick that played Katara. She made all that horrendous dialogue surprisingly sincere. You can tell she’s got what it takes.

Leave a Reply

